Full Report
N-able security advisory (AV26-885)
Analysis Summary
# Vulnerability: N-able N-central Critical Remote Code Execution
## CVE Details
- **CVE ID:** CVE-2026-86218
- **CVSS Score:** Not explicitly listed in the advisory (Note: Given the "exploited in the wild" status and nature of N-central, this typically maps to a Critical severity range).
- **CWE:** Not specified in the current summary.
## Affected Systems
- **Products:** N-able N-central
- **Versions:** All versions prior to 2026.3.1.14
- **Configurations:** Standard deployments of the N-central remote monitoring and management (RMM) platform.
## Vulnerability Description
While the provided advisory does not detail the specific underlying code flaw (e.g., Buffer Overflow, Injection), CVE-2026-86218 is identified as a critical security vulnerability within the N-central platform that allows for unauthorized actions. In the context of RMM tools, such vulnerabilities often involve remote execution or elevation of privilege.
## Exploitation
- **Status:** **Exploited in the wild** (Active exploitation reported as of September 6, 2026).
- **Complexity:** Not specified (Typically Low/Medium for RMM exploits).
- **Attack Vector:** Network (Remote).
## Impact
- **Confidentiality:** High
- **Integrity:** High
- **Availability:** High
- **Overall Impact:** Full compromise of the N-central server and potentially managed downstream agents.
## Remediation
### Patches
N-able has released a hotfix to address this vulnerability. Users should update to the following version or later:
- **N-central 2026.3.1.14 (2026.3 Hotfix 4)**
### Workarounds
- No official workarounds have been provided. Immediate patching is the recommended course of action due to active exploitation.
- As a general security posture, ensure the N-central administrative interface is not exposed to the open internet without VPN or conditional access restrictions.
## Detection
- Monitor N-central logs for unusual administrative logins or unauthorized configuration changes.
- Review N-able status pages for specific Indicators of Compromise (IoCs) as they are released by the vendor’s IR team.
## References
- N-able Status Page: hxxps[://]status[.]n-able[.]com/2026/09/06/n-central-2026-3-hotfix-4-cve-2026-86218/
- Release Notes: hxxps[://]documentation[.]n-able[.]com/N-central/Release_Notes/GA/Content/N-central_2026.3_HF4_Release_Notes[.]htm
- General Status: hxxps[://]status[.]n-able[.]com/release-notes/